25 sets of eyes on the DPRK

I had always heard the US ‘intelligence community’ was a mess. But I had no real idea, until I read this. 16 agencies plus the DNI. And they all look at such overlapping things. With the proliferation of desks, agencies, missions, etc., I count 25 separate entities likely to be watching the DPRK. There’s a ‘mission manager’ who’s supposed to integrate, etc. – and if he has real power then maybe it works. But the inefficiency … and I somewhat doubt he has sufficient power.

Also, always gotta love the USG’s fabulous talent for abbreviation and acronym. HUMINT. SIGINT.  CNPAKSDKHFASJDHKASJ. (I made the last one up. Hopefully.).

Leave a Reply

